Tag Archives: databases

Database Change: In the First Person no longer available

As of December 19th, 2014, Alexander Street Press decommissioned In the First Person and it is no longer available.  Alexander Street Press offers a number of resources focused on personal letters, diaries, oral histories, and other first-person narratives that can be accessed via the Databases A-Z list:
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
• British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

ReferenceUSA Now Available

ReferenceUSA is once again available.  ReferenceUSA contains in module format basic directory information for more than 89 million U.S. residents, 24 million businesses and US consumer and lifestyle data. The database is updated monthly and records can be exported.  ReferenceUSA can be accessed through the Databases A-Z link on the library’s homepage.

New Psychology Databases

Two new Psych databases are now available:

PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database.

PsycCRITIQUES®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books, and includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956.

Both can be accessed using the Databases A-Z link on the library’s homepage.

New Library Resources

The library added two new resources in late July.

DemographicsNow Library Edition is a comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.

DemographicsNow supports searches for individuals by name, address, telephone or by a variety of U.S. Census neighborhood data averages. It provides the capacity to search individual for company information and to create a mailing lists.   DemographicsNow contains information on over 23 million businesses.  It is searchable by company name, executive title, business type, size, credit rating, and more.  It also contains U.S. Census data, including current year and five-year projections.

This is a replacement for ReferenceUSA and SimplyMap, these two resources will be available through the fall semester but will cease January 1, 2013.

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos anytime. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection.  Right now we are seeing an issue with how Films on Demand interacts with IE in the D2L environment, it works perfectly with Firefox and Chrome.

The library has ceased subscriptions to the following:

Applied Science and Technology Index
ChoiceReviews online
Biography Reference Bank Select Edition
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Historical Statistics of the United States electronic access